The learning program from Reception to Year 7 at Burton Primary School is based on the Australian Curriculum.

The Australian Curriculum is designed to develop successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens. The Australian Curriculum outlines learning and achievement in the eight areas of study:  English, Mathematics, Science, Health and Physical Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Languages.

Teachers use the Curriculum when they plan programs and report to you on your children’s achievements and learning needs.

Burton Primary School has specialist teachers in the areas of Health and Physical Education, Science, The Arts, Science and Auslan.

Further information can be found at

Reading Improvement:

Burton Primary School has a targeted focus on reading improvement . Our goal is for all students to experience explicit, high quality teaching and learning in all elements of the Balanced Reader through modelled, guided and independent reading, which is informed by consistent assessment practices.

Department for Education logo
SA Gov logo
Creative Commons logo
Education Web Solutions logo
Australian Curriculum logo
Feedback & Complaints logo